Posted in NDG School Survival Guide

Back-to-School Shopping Tips | NDG School Survival Guide by Nerd Hope24

NDG School Survival Guide

Let’s be honest – we all love buying things, especially when we’re not spending our own money 💵. Hey readers, for this week’s post, I am delivering on my promise to give you tips on Back-to-School Shopping and go more in-depth about I how bargain hunted and shopped around this year. 

A couple of days ago, I went bargain hunting at Dollar Tree, Target, Office Depot, Wal-Mart and lastly Amazon. Today, I will be sharing tips and discuss about how shopping around saved me tones of cash and exposed to more awesome QUALITY PRODUCTS, compared to my usual shopping experiences with just Amazon and Wal-Mart.

Also, if you’re new to my blog, check our my Ultimate Back to School (9th Grade) Supplies Haul and Checklist. This is my second post of the NDG School Survival Guide Series, so look out my upcoming school supplies haul video on my YouTube channel and stay tune for more posts by following my blog. Also, learn more about me in the recently updated About Page and read below for my tips on Back-to-School Shopping for 2015.

My Back-to-School💲hopping Tips

  1. 💡 ADVANCED TIP (for the end of this year) – My sister is sometimes smarter than me and one thing she did at the end of her 5th grade year was definitely GENIUS. If you’re staying at the same school, ask a teacher (you know or maybe have someone introduce you) from the grade you’re advancing to for general supply list so you can shop early. This way you have all summer to shop and can avoid the crowded shopping centers during the beginning of school.
  1. Create a List 📝 – First, create a list of everything you may need for your grade this year. If your school did not provide a list, then do some research or ask upperclassmen what they bought. Also, look at online syllabuses if your school has a website, and check out my Ultimate Back-to-School (9th Grade) Supplies Checklist. Remember: If you have questions❓, don’t be afraid to ask anyone (including me in a comment).

📌 If you’re feeling a little lazy, some department stores like Office Depot also have school supplies list for each grade prepared in advance.

  1. 👀 Take inventory – Now that you know what you need, look at your old school supplies or around your house for things you may already have. If they’re usable, reuse them, but remember if they’re not great condition – you may need to upgrade.
  1. Ask your sibling(s)❔– Ask your sibling(s) if they have any extra supplies from last year that you can borrow. Sometimes, if you have something they need you can exchange with them.
  1. Don’t procrastinate – Research and shop early! – Shops in your area tend to bring in school supplies the month you go back to school. At your usual shopping destination 🏬, ask the clerk, salespeople or employees over the summer when the back the school sales will begin. Also research online for bargain deals and supplies for cheap prices.
  1. KEEP YOUR PARENTS HAPPY 👪 – More than likely, you’re not the one footing the bill for your school supplies and if you plan on going over budget or just want to have a smoother shopping experience, keep you parents in a good mood 😄. Remember when you corporate with them, they will corporate with you. Also, it’s a nice thank you since they’re investing time and money for you have to good supplies, and when they have requisites you must complete before going shopping, take them seriously and actually do them well.
  1. RESEARCH/BARGAIN HUNT AROUND THE WEB 🌎 AND IN STORE 🏪 – Before you go shopping, check out the stores ahead of time online or in person to see all the deals and sales. This year I checked out Target, Office Depot, Wal-Mart and lastly Amazon in store and/or on the web to make sure I was getting the best prices. I made a chart and used this when I went shopping around to make sure I was getting the best deals. Shops that I primarily shopped at (liked Wal-Mart and Amazon) were my last stop, since I had them close to memorized. I visited Target and Office Depot first and found that these stores had some awesome low prices of their own. One college student even complemented me on my bargain hunting 😊😀.

Table1

👀 Look out for promotions in your favorite shops, office supply stores, and local health departments. Keep extra flyers and advertisements for low school supply prices, and shop at stores that will match their competitor.

  1. SHOP AROUND (Highly Recommended) – Shop around if you have the time ⏰ and if your parents 👫 approve of it. Tip 6 will really help you out in shopping around and saving money. It also helps to keep your eyes open and look out for lowest prices. First, I went to Dollar Tree and bought goods that were particularly expensive in other stores like planners, whiteout and flashcards (all for $1 a piece). Then, I visited Target and Office Depot where I used my chart to compare prices to Wal-Mart and Amazon. Lastly, I shopped in store at Wal-Mart and online at Amazon for the remaining things I couldn’t find in store or at lower prices.
  1. SHOP TAX FREE – As a student, you probably didn’t know this, but some states have holidays with a no sales taxes for a few days in August. Check out if your state has this break at taxadmin and shop around these days to save on taxes and sales for a double win. Unfortunately, if your school starts in July (like mine) you may not be able to use these day for most of your back-to-school shopping.
  1. STICK TO YOUR LIST AND BUDGET – Buying what is on your list, helps you keep your budget. Don’t buy things you won’t need, since it wastes money and it’s just another thing you probably won’t use.
  1. BUY / STORE A GOOD AMOUNT of supplies – Basic supplies – like paper, pencils, glue sticks, and notebooks – should be bought in bulk to last the year. Organize these supplies in your room/home, so you have access to them yearlong when you need them. Also, only use small amounts of your supply at once so you don’t loose them all or run out of them too early.
  1. QUALITY COUNTS!!! – You know how “looks can be deceiving,” well this applies to school supplies too. Even though, some pens look adorable, quality plays a huge part in how you use them and it’s best to stick with brands with good reputations or ability rather than looks. A kid with a pen that works well is obviously better off than the kid with the cute pen. Backpacks with warranties are also recommended, because if your backpack gets damaged – a warranty makes it more easier to replace it. Lastly, buy supplies without gimmicks, because gimmicks tend to disrupt classes and make your supplies a distraction not a tool.
  1. Buy clothes 👚 around summer sales 😎 – Save money by buying clothes throughout the summer during summer sales. Also, buy year round clothes during this time to save money and buy less clothes during later seasons.
  1. Don’t buy books 📚 you can get for free – Many works of literature, philosophy, and classics that you will be required to have for school can be downloaded for free in print and a variety of formats at gutenberg.

This was my tips on Back-to-School Shopping for 2015 and I hope you will at least take some of my recommendations. I hope you liked this post and will continue follow-up on my blog. If you have any questions or suggestions, please respond in a comment, and don’t forget to answer my daily poll.

Thanks for reading 😉😀,

Nerd Hope24

P.S. If you feel like contributing to the blog, CHECK OUT the About page.

Author:

Still a nerd, but dealing with a lot of change. Brevity may not be my best friend but I know blogging will help me develop my voice and meet new people.

5 thoughts on “Back-to-School Shopping Tips | NDG School Survival Guide by Nerd Hope24

  1. Hi,
    It seems your blog would appeal to students.
    I found you in the Community Pool. You said you were new to blogging, and I help new bloggers at my site. There is even a free incentive for signing up. Here is the link to my About page, so you can read about my blog.
    http://wp.me/P5jxvv-1
    Nice to meet you.
    Janice

    Like

Leave a Reply

